Five Levels of Change Maturity

In order to keep up with the current economic climate and a competitive market, change must become an integral part of everyday business. Only recently have organisations begun to recognise the importance of building the competency that will enable them to rapidly manage and successfully deploy change.

Following a study with over 150 organisations, Prosci developed a Change Management Maturity Model which enables organisations to assess their current change management maturity. By doing so, they are able to visualise the progressive journey needed to achieve effective change management.

We've summarised the five levels of maturity below to help you assess where your organisation currently lies on the scale and to find out the benefits of reaching level five maturity. If you are interested in finding out more about each level of maturity and how this may apply to your business download the full Prosci article "Five levels of maturity"

1. Absent or Ad Hoc
At level one, change management is a subsidiary to most projects and tasks. It is only considered as a last resort or as a reaction to poor results within a current project. Those in charge of change management will receive almost no training or support from executive level co-workers.

2. Isolated Projects
Moving to level two, some elements of change management will be visible across select projects within organisations with level two maturity. At this level, maturity within projects is inconsistent, with some projects progressing up the maturity scale and others still at level one. Training is also still at a minimum, with managers and leaders receiving little to no training to effectively coach employees on the change.

3. Multiple Projects
Within level three, the popularity of structured change management implementation is beginning to grow however only within localised groups in the organisation. Despite signs of change management best practice being evident, there is still no company-wide consensus and approaches and methodologies being used to implement change vary between groups.

4. Organisational Standards
At level four, company-wide standards have been chosen for managing and leading change. These will be adapted and tailored for projects being introduced.

5. Organisational Competency
When you reach level five, effective change management will be viewed as a priority for organisation executives and essential for all projects and initiatives. Extensive training is provided company-wide. Not only will the benefits be seen through profitability and responsiveness but the organisation's competitive edge will be heightened. 

There is a growing body of knowledge that shows a direct correlation between how well an organisation manages the people side of change and how successful projects and initiatives ultimately are. As an organisation sees examples of failed changes due to poorly managed change and successes due to effectively managed change, there is a greater sense of urgency related to moving up the Maturity Model.

If you enjoyed this article and want to develop your Change Management knowledge further, join CMC for the next “How to in change management” webinar series where we focus the common challenges and obstacles when implementing change management for your change projects. Topics include;  how to integrate change management and project management, how to write a business case for change management, how to manage employee resistance during change and how to drive adoption with five strategic change plans. 

If you would like to discuss how you can build your organisational change capability, give the team a call on +44 (0) 1600 740 215 or send us an email

Take a look at CMC's Prosci Change Management training offerings.